Results of the 2010 AWARDS

I’m very proud of what the AWARDS have become – a truly worldwide showcase of talented shooters recognized by their peers. The quality of work entered gets better every year.

I want to thank all the participants, who together entered nearly 400 clips in this year’s contest. Your work is inspiring and will act as a great resource for all of us to learn from. Your dedication to your craft encourages all of us to continue to grow and improve.

And thanks to all of you b-rollers who voted. Many of you viewed hours of clips to help choose the best work. Your choices help make this the most democratic contest around. Many photogs with greatly varied backgrounds select the winners – not a select group of so-called “experts.” The AWARDS are truly a contest of and by our peers.

Last but not least, thanks to our sponsors. We’re happy to have Fujinon back this year as our Gold Sponsor. They have been loyal supporters of the great TV photographers who call their home. Kennedy’s ENG understands the importance of what we do as TV photographers – and joined us this year as a Silver Sponsor. Long-time supporters of the AWARDS, PortaBrace and Xtender, are helping with prizes again this year.

The economic situation has deeply affected everyone in the industry, and unfortunately is no different. Thanks to our sponsors, we are able to present the coveted crystal AWARD trophies to b-roller of the YEAR, the three BEST of, and First Place in each of 10 categories. Second and third place in each category will receive a frameable certificate in recognition of their hard work and achievement.

Speaking of winning – let’s get to the results:

It was a very tight race for b-roller of the YEAR. Last year’s champ, Darren Durlach, was neck and neck with Leighton Grant, but Mr. Grant pulled it off. Congratulations to…

2010 b-roller of the YEAR
Leighton Grant of WLOS, Asheville, NC

View some of Leighton Grant‘s work:

2010 BEST of (Large Market)
Darren Durlach, WBFF, Baltimore, MD

The “winningest” b-roller of the YEAR, with the 2009 and 2009 AWARDS, Darren Durlach takes home the BEST of trophy for Large Market (markets 1-30).

View a few of Darren Durlach‘s clips:

2010 BEST of (Small Market)
Joe O’Neill, WHTM, Harrisburg, PA

Joe O’Neill of WHTM in Harrisburg, PA has another BEST of trophy to share the shelf with his 2009 AWARD.

View some of Joe O’Neill‘s clips:

2010 BEST of (International)
Stephen Press, Freelancer, Wellington, New Zealand

“Cameragod” Stephen Press takes the International BEST of AWARD.

View some of Stephen Press‘s clips:

b-roller of the YEAR trophy goes to:

  • Leighton Grant, WLOS, Asheville, NC

BEST of trophies go to:

  • Darren Durlach, WBFF, Baltimore, MD Division 1: Domestic (USA) Large Market (Market Size 1-30)
  • Joe ONeill, WHTM, Harrisburg, PA Division 2: Domestic (USA) Small Market (Market Size 31-212)
  • Stephen Press, Freelancer, New Zealand, Division 3: International

Congratulations to all the winners.

Go to the AWARDS page for individual category results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.