Video on NFL player who coaches high school football

ericseals

Hi,
This is my first post.
I'm a photojournalist for the Detroit Free Press and have been shooting college, pro sports, news, features here since 1999. With the newspaper push to more multimedia on the web, I started shooting video in June of 2008 and have done about 7 videos, many in Beijing when covering the Olympics in August.

Anyway, I spent most of October story boarding, shooting and editing my first long video piece (about 10 minutes) about a former NFL wide receiver who came back to his old high school to teach kids lessons on the field and about how to be a man off it.

Here is the link to it.
http://freep.com/article/20081026/HSS/810260405&template=altart
The video player is embedded into the page. Any thoughts and feedback would be great.

Really getting a lot out of this site. Thanks

Eric

Buck

Overall good job. I could tell a lot of time and effort was put into it.

I would have like to have seen just a little more of the actual game footage with a mic on him capturing sound during the game. That part flew by. Then again it was a loss so I guess there wasn't a need to spend a lot of time on it to make the point. I still would have liked to have heard him mic'd up there though.

I like the fact that you did interviews at a lot of different times and different setting with him instead of sitting him down just once and going back to him each time.

Do you get this much time to put together all of your stories?

cameragod

Eric I sat down to critique and to be honest I just don’t know were to begin.
For you seventh story it was a good effort. You obviously have a good eye. I loved some of the framing but the rest… well it’s a mess.
You’ve got about four or five different shooting styles going on here, too much for one story and I think a lot poor of shooting was probably saved in the edit.

Have you got someone you could get some mentoring with?