New to video

This is my first post.

I'm new to the the world of video since I've been shooting only since February 2008 for the company website. I received only minimal video and Final Cut Pro instruction, probably not much more than an hour total. BTW, I was a full-time still photographer.

I love to learn new things so please let me know what you think. Also, how can I get better?

I'll post on a regular basis starting with some of my early videos.

http://videos.cleveland.com/plain-dealer/2008/04/the_lego_olympiad.html

http://videos.cleveland.com/plain-dealer/2008/04/st_ignatius_circus_company.html

Thanks in advance.

Latin Lens

So we call these types of stories natpkgs....your relying solely on the natural sound and interviews you gather without a reporter track. You need to get better nat sound of the action to use....shorten your shots they are too long at times....or bring the audio in way sooner....I don't really know whats going on or whats being talked about until 30secs in.

I can tell your scared to get tight shots....but go get them...cover your butt but try and get them....tight shot of lego being snapped on....juggler's hand catching the pins....you need that stuff to help you.

You have a good eye....shadow on the ground of the jugglers was cool...don't play it out by using it over and over and over again. Hide the mic cords no matter what....its more professional.

sixtycyclehum

Nice Job

I can tell you're a still photog...you've got great composition on every shot. You're not afraid to get close to the action either as seen with the great shots at the Lego tournament.

I'm not sure how to critique your work as what you're doing is a little different than what's seen on TV...so I guess I'll apply TV "rules" to what your doing on the web:

On Interviews: