General Critique on this Story?

http://www.whiotv.com/news/18044904/detail.html

I work weekends and odd shifts, and don't generally get to edit what I shoot. This week I got a chance and jumped, and this is what aired. I've been shooting on my own for around 7-8 months now, started totally green to news shooting, and trained with a veteran shooter, and now am working part time at WHIO-TV. Just looking for some general critique, what looked good, what didn't, etc.

I know it's not a big sweeps story, but I'm looking for ways to improve and enhance my abilities. This is the first job I've really loved, and I want it to pay off (not financially, but in terms of a career I enjoy). Thanks.

Latin Lens

Overall....not too bad. But you need to get more tight shots. Tight shots allow you to "move around" a scene, break your axis to get all the good stuff in.....tight shots with nat sound I feel make more of an impression so be on the look out for that. You did get nat sound but use it with a tight shot and see the differance.

Lose the pan(s)....I don't like movement in my shots personally and this should have been a straight cut...wide medium tight kinda piece.

Be aware of your intverview positions so it doesn't clash with your b-roll.....let the position make sense but don't overdo...."just put the truck behind them" because it will look weird at scenes that evolve as the day goes on and you do more interviews.

nguyen.jason

Thoughts from a guy in FL. First off Love Ohio, Dayton's a good town.