Pricing Structures

I'm a news photographer currently but am looking into the possibility of freelancing on the side. I can shoot promos, commercials, weddings etc... I don't really know how to price my services. Hourly? By the job? Is there an industry standard or a professional code that I should be aware of? Any input would be very helpful.

grinner

The wedding industry is use to flat rates for various packages offered. IE: 2 cameras and one operator, 2 cameras, with 2 operators, ect. You can get a feel for prices on packages by surfing the wedding videographer sites in yur market.
Most freelancers adhere to a day rate and there is no standard for this price. It has to do with your market, your experience/capabilities, and your gear/overhead. The bottom line is you'll get what ya can. If that's a grand a day with gear, great. If 20 bucks an hour is a bump from your daily grind, that's a win/win as well.
Don't go by union rates in your market. You'll find they run about a third of what most freelancers charge.

Baltimore Shooter

So iHD, if "its every man for himself in the freelance world" as you say then I guess it's okay to go after a fellow Cameraman's client.

Warren

Robin

Hey iHD

Please dont come anywhere near Europe.. most of us have friends that are also camera people.. there is a camaraderie between shooters.. I have lent a complete stranger a battery... a tape.. and would expect the same.. if you are in it for the money.. please leave this industry and work for Goldman .. where you will fit in really well..

Last edited:

grinner

So, Robin
When you first went freelance, how'd you get your clients? I assume they did no video work before meeting you.

Hiding Under Here