Band Camp

Hey guys, I'm new to the site.... figured I'd give a little background. I'm currently a sophomore majoring in film (minoring in marketing) at Emerson College in Boston. I don't think I want to keep majoring in film, but I really have no idea what I want. I got involved in videography early in high school. I started shooting for a ski resort's marketing department... website, promo DVDs, etc. The last two years of high school, I put out two full length snowboard movies that were distributed internationally by the leading action sports DVD distributor (VAS Entertainment). And since then I've done a lot of freelance videography and editing work in sports/events/music/etc... for companies such as Burton Snowboards, Fuel TV, and Freeebord.

This last summer I worked as a photographer for News 12 New Jersey. Since I'm in Boston for college now, I go back and work sometimes on holidays and weekends. I love working there, though it was definitely pretty difficult adjusting to it.... mostly the whole speed factor with news. I never really had to plan/shoot/edit anything as fast or in such stress filled situations before. They made me edit my first package ever in a sat truck, before setting up for the accompanying live shot! But as stressful as it was, as much yelling as I endured (from reporters, producers, angry/protesting muslims not wanting women on the sidewalk filmed, and worst.... a judge in court during session), and as many close calls with deadlines that I freaked out about (and the few that missed their air spots), it was a great experience and I had a blast doing it.

Anyway, towards the end of the summer I went through the archives, and took everything I could find that I did. I copied the files from burned DVDs onto my external and think I just need to fool around with them and use the program Handbrake or something to get them into quicktime files. But here is something I was able to get on my first attempt...