Photog safety at nite...any guidelines?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CFRNPHOTO

We have finally got an overnight shooter and I was wondering if any stations have any safety guidelines for shooters working alone at night. These would be in addition to common sense... which we don't always use!

Lost in Alaska

Keep their phone on and handy at all times, shoot woth both eyes open, and if they don't feel right being there, get out.

I was called out at 4am to a possible gang fight. It was over when I got there, but the cops were hanging out just to be safe. I started shooting cover of the area when some shouting erupted again. One guy was lead out of the area by a friend of his, then the friend turned around. The guy was still walking towards me, then jogging. About that time I threw my stuff inmy truck and left. As I was turning the corner I saw this guy running in my direction. That is about the closest I want to be in a stiuation where someone is obvously angry, dosn't want you there, it's night and you are alone.

Fisher

Get him one of those bright orange reflective vests he can wear while standing on the side of the highway shooting fatal drunk driving accidents.

Natural Born Stringer

Ah... overnights. :D

A few things come to mind in regards to safety:

1. It's a helluva lot easier to get to a scene before PD or FD does. That can be a good thing or a REALLY bad thing. Always think about what you are going into before you even start driving there. There are some stories you'll want to beat them to and others that you won't.

2. Make sure you are VISIBLE. Go to a uniform shop and get one of those reflective orange traffic vests. Alot of the time you will find yourself on the side of the freeway shooting an accident after 2AM when the drunks are headed home.