NPPA style?

• Thread starter <Rasberry Shake>
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

<Rasberry Shake>

I've been shooting for around 3 years now. I've heard alot about shooting "NPPA style", and I want to do so....but recently I've relized that I don't know exactly what "NPPA style" is. Can anyone give me a genuine definition of "NPPA style", because I don't know that I've ever heard one distinct way of shooting in a NPPA way.

Thank you all for your responses.

N

<Nematode>

"I've heard alot about shooting "NPPA style", and I want to do so....but recently I've relized that I don't know exactly what "NPPA style" is."

Why would you want to adopt a style with which you are unfamiliar?
We have enough "stylists" in our business. How about concentrating on storytelling and skip the whole question of "style"?.
Good news photography is invisible. I want people to talk about the content of my work not it's "style".
Find your own voice. And by the way, this is not intended as a shot at the NPPA.
All you need to do is turn on your TV to see every kind of photography imaginable. Adopt the stuff you like and ditch the stuff that makes you squirm. It's no more difficult than that.
May I suggest starting with a trip to Best Buy for the 4 DVD Kruosawa boxed set? It's got little or nothing to do with actual news photography but it will blow your eyes wide open and that's a good thing.

Y

<yeah, but...>

Originally posted by Flash-Frame:
http://www.nppa.org/
I didn't see NPPA style defined on their website. I think Shake is asking what the shooting style looks like. For those of us who don't work in a market with an NPPA-style shop or who haven't been able to go to a seminar... give us the vibe. I have gotten the impression that NPPA favors creative, artistic shots; use of tripod, etc. Am I right? Can anyone elaborate?

Lensmith

Originally posted by <Rasberry Shake>: