I WANT TO BECOME A CHIEF!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Long Shot

I want to become a Chief, how do I do it?

I have 5 years of medium market experience, not really looking to move up in markets but would like to be a Chief in a meduim market.

As a former chief photographer the biggest challenge is how the Management folks see your role. A great boss who is motivator and a leader will make your role trully rewarding.

When the great boss leaves and the micro manger, pennypinching new owner, psycho ND, psycho Ass. ND, scanner happy assignment desk shows up the nightmare will begin.

With all that said the right conditions it is very satisfying. Be ready for the great times and the crappy times.

If your they expect you to shoot 12 hours a day and then do your to do scheduling, purchasing, vehicle mtce etc & pay you as a salried employee you will long for the days just shooting.

I believe that you need some dedicated time to be a cheif not just between 12:15 & 12:28 after the noon live shot and on your way to city hall for the 13:00 presss conference.

Hey.. a couple of people sick and heavy newsday will throw a wrench into normal procedure .. pulling yourhair out every day and you on stress leave is no the way to go.

Since leaving the cheif postion I take great pride in mentoring several photogs to refine and develope their craft.

Imachief

First off, do you have a chief now? Talk to him/her about being an assistant. Get them to let you help w/ some of the decision making, paperwork, less than enjoyable aspects of the job. Learn everything you can from them.

Secondly, are you respected in your current newsroom? Not just as a Photog, but as someone others can go to for advice, criticism, or a shoulder to cry on/vent? I can guarantee you, as a Chief, you will be in positions to do all of those, and more.