FC Express Quicktime Exports

I normally use premiere pro but recently switched to using FC Express on my laptop. I am working on a little project and capture all of my video onto a external hard drive connected via usb to my macbook. The software works fine and when I play my finished rendered sequence it plays fine. I exported as a quicktime movie and when I play it back in quicktime it has several audio glitches and motion within the video doesn't look good. I burned it to dvd using Idvd and it of course had the same glitches. Any of you have any solutions to this? The only things I can think of is that it is having trouble exporting when all of the video is on an external drive, or there is some problem withe the settings of codecs. I am new to FC on my macbook so any advice you have to make it run better is greatly appreciated.

bluffton

We'll walk you through it, HOPEFULLY!

what are the settings you are using in your timeline?
What settings are you using to export the file as?
what version of FCE and QT are you working with?
Have you updated FCE, QT, or any other applications since starting this project?

:confused:You should not have any problems exporting from an external drive since most FC users accomplish this daily without issue.:D You may want to check your quicktime movies in your capture scratch to see if they are corrupt.:eek:

-Anthony Mirones

file export w quicktime conversion
format: Quicktime movie
use : Default
under the optons tab:
compression: H.264
Quality: High
key frame rate: 24
frame reordering: yes
encoding mode : multi pass
dimensions: 424 by 318

There are even more options under settings, such as compressor type that I am sure have something to do with my export quality.