Does membership have its privileges?

tubecamera-or-bust

Sorry to sound like an old TV ad...

I've been a freelance videographer for 20+ years but never a member of the NPPA. I'm wondering if the membership or really the ID card you must get with becoming a member helps to get you into newsworthy events to photograph if you are not working directly for a station or newspaper where you would have their credentials around your neck?

Thanks!

Lensmith

I don't know of anyone who truly has twenty years of experience shooting news and refers to themselves as a "videographer".

But I guess there's always a first time.;)

Lensmith

I liked your web site. It looks like you do a lot of good work.

I did have a problem seeing the pictures completely as they cycled through and, not being a computer guy myself, I don't know how to describe the problem I had seeing them other than...they would only load to half way down the shot, then stop. Sometimes it would show me the whole picture, then cycle to the next...but only half of it.

The shots I could see looked very pro. They speak well of the talents a client would get from your services.

As far as the NPPA goes for where you are in your career...I'm just not sure what the best advice would be for your situation.

You, like myself, do a lot of work where we do not have control over the entire finished product. The NPPA is geared more for those who have that complete control.

Does that make sense?

The NPPA has it's positives but, do to different work situations, it does not fit everyones needs. Especially those who work as independent contractors at the whim of all kinds of different clients.

Just my thoughts...;)

tubecamera-or-bust

Hey John: