compressing HD for the web

Focused

I have a lot of experience getting 4 x 3 video squished down to just about anything for the web. Streaming, e-mail, you name it I can do it in my sleep.

16 x 9 is a whole other deal. Add in 720 vs 1080 and I need the help of a mathematician.

Does anyone have some tips for getting short clips (like 30 second spots) encoded down for proofing over e-mail--less than 10 MB? Using Quicktime pro I can use a lower bit rate to save file size but end up with a squished image (16x9 in a 4x3 hole). Once I was able to get it back to 16x9 but I can't find the process again.

I am just using the wrong program? Some have recommended Adobe Media Encoder but I can not find it as a stand alone. I run FCP hence the Quick time experience. I have dabbled around with Apple's Compressor but there are not many options for encoding to a web friendly file. It lacks control over a lot of variables.

Dan R.

For HD clips, I've been encoding FLVs and embedding those in a flash-based player. The quality is nice and file sizes are not too bad, and they will work in most platforms. I set the bitrate at around 4Mbps and size the video at around 950 pixels wide (which fits in most browser windows). You can even make the flash player full-screen without losing too much quality.

Chugach3DGuy

Is it required that you deliver these clips at the full 720p/1080p rez? Whenever I send out proofs of TV spots or any kind of clip over email, I'll down-rez to 640X480 or 320X240 if it's something longer than 60 seconds. If you do need to deal with files at High Definition resolutions, it might be better to use a service like RapidShare or YouSendIt. They're free services that allow you to upload a file up to 100 or 200 MB in size and then send download links to whoever needs the file. It's an easy way to bypass the whole email attachment limitations. Another option is to use an FTP server and a client program such as Filezilla.