Shooting PAL

iHD

First, I have no experience with PAL. However, an incredible opportunity has presented itself that involves working with foreign journalist who travel to Washington to turn stories to take home with them. I currently can only shoot NTSC but can convert the material in Adobe Premiere. How many of you work with PAL here in the US and what are your thoughts with regards to conversion and output?

I've been considering buying a new AJ-HPX300 so I looked over it again today and realized its not switchable to PAL like the AJ-HPX2000 is. I really don't want to buy a new camera just for PAL use so what other options would you suggest?

Chugach3DGuy

If this is going to be a long-term and lucrative gig for you, it might be a good idea to check out that HPX-301 that ISDV pointed out. Also, I think the Sony Z1U cameras can switch between NTSC and PAL, but HDV might not cut it for what you're doing.

Converting NTSC to PAL in Adobe Premiere is one of the most painfully slow things I've ever experienced. I don't know if this is something limited to Premiere, but it took one of my machines a couple of hours to convert about 30 minutes of PAL to NTSC. I had about 17 hours of video all together, and the client wanted the video converted quickly and burned to DVD over the course of a couple days. There just wasn't enough time, and she didn't want to pay for the time it would take for me to encode everything to NTSC, so I ended up having to encode the PAL as Quicktime files that the client's clients could play back on their computers.

So, if these stories are in any way time sensitive, doing a software conversion from NTSC to PAL probably won't cut it. At least not in Premiere.

netnews

NTSC converted to PAL is not generally accepted by most European producers I work with as there can be significant quality loss in the conversion. They tend to do this when the original material exists only in NTSC.