"One Man Band" advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

<Captain Colorhue>

Hi, I'm new to board, but I've enjoyed reading some of the posts, as well as the "tips" section.
Anyway, my question is in regards to "one man banding." I'm currently a "One Man Band" at an update station, where I'm also the evening anchor. (insert your own joke here!)
I'm more interested in being in front of the camera, but I've really gotten to enjoy being a photographer. Unfortunately, our only full-time photographer just left and we're in the process of replacing him, so in the meantime, I don't work with anyone who has any real background or knowledge in photo-journalism. In my case, I'm an allright photog, my shots are steady and I can do a few of the "pretty" things like pans and rack-focuses, but I'd like to develop a better "eye" and the ability to really captivate a story visually. Obviously, I know practice is the best thing I can do, but I'm hoping to move on the higher market soon as a reporter/anchor and I realize that my tape will likely feature stories that I shot and I'm hoping that what I lack as a photog doesn't hurt what I have as a reporter/anchor. So, my question is basically a broad one, but if anyone has any advice or even a tip or two, I'd certainly appreciate it. Thanks and take care.

R

<Russ>

Do me a favor, when you get to the big market, please don't constantly point out that you were a shooter too in your old market.

Basically - you're video is not going to be looked at when applying for a reporter/anchor job, so don't sweat it. Actually it is the editing that really makes the difference. So put your efforts there.

D

<David Sussman>

Captain,