Lighting with fluorescent

N.Klaeser

Hi,

I am a newbie to the news world.

When interviewing a talking head under fluorescent lighting do you cut the overheads and light with your gear or leave the overheads on and add light?

I use LED lighting.

cameragod

Depends. I often turn them off to see what I have to work with but sometimes they can add to the shot if left on. A bit like painting your canvas white and then painting on top :)

cameragod

The trick is to do the lighting first before you mic up. They will chat happily with the talent as you light but as soon as a reporter is mic'd they think its time to go and every second you take after that is a lifetime :)

Run&Gun

Seems though that reporters are not patent enough to wait to light a scene.
This goes along with something that sometimes takes many years to realize: It's not JUST the reporters story. It's YOUR story, too. Don't be "pushed around" and rushed. If taking two minutes to light makes it better, do it. Spin it that better looking visuals will help the reporter get that next better job.

At the scene

Seems though that reporters are not patent enough to wait to light a scene.
When I was in local news I use to do this all the time. If the reporter sigh's when you set up lights don't say anything to them in front of the interviewer. Wait until they start writing the story then 15 minutes after they start writing ask them if their done yet. If the answer is " no" wait another 5 minutes and ask again. Do it until you hear the words "what's your hurry" then say "you rushed me doing my craft it's only fair that I get to rush you doing yours".
Works every time. Like RUN&GUN said it's not your story or the reporters story, it's both your story. Good luck!

svp

I always turn them off. However, sometimes you find yourself in buildings or areas where the lights are on permanently and can't be turned off so you have to work around it.