Goodyear Blimp Nat PKG- your thoughts please

PhotoGino

Nice work

Hey... nice work. Liked how you got the sound through the headphones to get the "in-the-air" feel. Great job matching your edits with ground and cockpit shots.

I was left with a few questions. Why were they flying? Was it a special trip they were flying/a practice flight/etc? Try working in some more factual soundbytes to help... If the captain said "on your left you'll see PNC Park" that would've helped me know what ballpark we were looking at. Also, if you're going to focus on a few characters, it's worth investing a few seconds allowing them to introduce themselves. "I'm Joe Smith and I've been a pilot for 25 years."

Your interviews looked like they were done off the shoulder. I always find it easier when one-man-banding to set the frame up on the sticks and talk to your subject with your shoulder right next to the lens. But whatever you're comforatable with.

Good work though man, keep up the quality storytelling!

Deft Depth

Why were they flying? Was it a special trip they were flying/a practice flight/etc?

They were in town for a promotional thing with a local tire and auto center, which was explained in the intro that aired.

I always find it easier when one-man-banding to set the frame up on the sticks and talk to your subject with your shoulder right next to the lens.
Not in this case. I had limited time, and so did both of the guys on the ground who I interviewed. In the first case the blimp had just taken off and the guy needed to drive a van back to the airport to pick up another group, and in the second case the blimp was coming in for a landing within about a minute. In either case, I didn't want to waste time setting my sticks up, especially since everyone including myself was in a hurry. Was being off the sticks distracting for you as a viewer?

Thanks for the compliments! :)

javary