experience needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

pictureperfect

When I started in this biz in '93 you were required to have something like a million years of experience to work in this industry. That made it very hard for me to "move on up" at 19 years old working in a 140 something market for 2 1/2 years, so I started shooting stills. I did that for about 5 years when I decided I wanted back into to news. By then the minimum was 3 to 5 years. That I could do, and poof, I was once again shooting video. Now as I read job listings, and watch the experience required level reach all time lows, even in large markets I thought for sure you could not get any lower than 1 year. Then I read this.....

(4/2)
NEWS PHOTOGRAPHER (WCTI) New Bern, NC WCTI is looking for a motivated news photographer. (4/2)
NEWS PHOTOGRAPHER (WCTI) New Bern, NC WCTI is looking for a motivated news photographer. Qualified candidates will have some experience in the broadcast industry, preferably television news. Job responsibilities include video photography, editing, and ENG truck operation, among other duties. Qualified candidates must possess a strong work ethic and the ability to work well under deadline pressure in a constantly-changing environment. Please send tape and resume to Joel Wade, Chief Photographer, WCTI-TV, PO Box 12325, New Bern, NC 28561.
[22957 From: Ingrid Johansen]

"Qualified candidates will have SOME experience in the broadcast industry"

That is just embarrassing, even for a 106.

Special K

It's the way this biz is going because no one wants to be a photog. So if you're any good, you'll be able to move up very quickly (if you desire), leaving any markets above 50 in a situation where they almost have to train their own photogs. At my shop, we've hired 5 new photogs in the past 2 years. They had a grand total of about 2 years of experience. It's the same deal at the other shops in town too.