Editing in Premiere Pro CC

paulisphotoman

I am new to using CC, but am editing my new Cinematography demo. I was wondering, when exporting, what setting(s) should I be using as I have a mix of SD and some HD footage. I am exporting for use on YouTube, Vimeo (H.264), editing on Windows 7.

Douglas

The best export option is really dictated by your timeline. Hopefully you are editing on an HD timeline, and if so, then export with one of Media Encoder's Vimeo presets.

But if you want some further advice, throw out all the SD stuff and start over. Nobody, I mean nobody, wants to see your SD stuff.

The best export option is really dictated by your timeline. Hopefully you are editing on an HD timeline, and if so, then export with one of Media Encoder's Vimeo presets.

But if you want some further advice, throw out all the SD stuff and start over. Nobody, I mean nobody, wants to see your SD stuff.
Unfortunately Doug is dead on on this one. I worked at a news station that lingered on SD longer than they should have and while some of my favorite news feature shooting was done there It is utterly useless.

cameragod

I don't know. If you are just exporting to youtube or vimeo then by the time its up there good SD can look like HD.

Douglas

I don't know. If you are just exporting to youtube or vimeo then by the time its up there good SD can look like HD.
What??? You need to get a new computer, a better monitor, or more bandwidth. There is a huge difference between good SD and HD.

Tv Shooter

If "good" SD looked like HD, no one would have spent the money to switch to HD, because the "good" SD would have been just like HD.

paulisphotoman

So if you shoot something in HD but not lit right, as compared to really good looking footage in 1280x720 not 1080, is that useless ?

svp