Disc Duplication and Printing: Ink Jet VS Dye Sublimation

Chugach3DGuy

Does anyone out there in there in the freelance world provide disc duplication as a secondary service? I have a very small duplicator and manual feed disc printer, but I'm looking into upgrading to a machine that can handle larger jobs.

I'm trying to compare and contrast inkjet based disc publishers (Epson Discproducer) and dye sublimation publishers (Teac P55 printer). I have plenty of experience dealing with inkjet disc printers, and am familiar with all of their drawbacks. The dye sublimation printer looks like it has fewer drawbacks, but it is much more expensive. I also read someplace that dye sublimation printers don't print as sharp of an image compared to inkjets, but I haven't seen anything to support or deny it.

So, anyone who has worked with these kinds of machines before, please chime in and let me know which printer you would prefer and why.

SoMissTV

I own a Primera Bravo II and have been very happy with it. With the new waterproof discs that Verbatim and Taiyo-Yuden make, it's been a pretty good way to turn out a product.

Chugach3DGuy

I think you're one of the first people I've seen to give a Primera Bravo machine a good review. I've checked out a few other forums and read all kinds of negative things about them, which is why I've been looking more closely at Epson's PP-100 Disc Producer. It costs just 18 cents/disc, compared to the Primera models' 20 - 26 cents/disc.

I just found some machines by Rimage that use a process called Thermal Retransfer. This method of printing seems to be the absolute best, but wow does it come with a hefty price tag!

dhart

I have taken a different approach. I'll duplicate up to 25 discs for a client (use my internal MacPro DVD burner and HP Photosmart printer). Anything more than that and it's off to a duplicator. But hey, it's however you want to spend your time.

lbvp