Anybody use the Lowel L lights?

NoJobTog

I've never used his particular light before but from the looks of it I think I like the build of it better than the lowel prolight. I am trying to piece together my own personal light kit for video and still photography. (I am an ENG Photog).

At a max of 300watts, these guys have a little more punch than the 250's. They also use the MR-16 Halogen Lamps as opposed to the quartz bulbs. I'm not sure of the difference but I am assuming the color temp is just as stable as in the quartz bulbs.

To be totally honest I am not a huge fan of lowel products, the don't seem to be as robust as some of the others out there. But I haven't been able to find anything comprable in the price range. Are there any good resources other than ebay to get descent us lights?

http://www.lowel.com/llight/

Thanks as always for your help!

cyndygreen1

I've used the pros and omnis, which were okay, but not this one. Do NOT like the V or Tota much...too much exposure to the lamp.

zac love

This is pretty much a light bulb socket with barn doors that you can mount to a light stand. I have one at work, but I've never personally used it. (Maybe should one of these days to see how well it works.)

I think the Pro light is great. Much more expandable, focus-able, uses 100-250w watt bulbs, & just slightly bigger foot print than the L light.

acton

I use it as a hair-light with the barn-doors or throw a sliver of light on wall. A little more use full if you have some black foil to wrap around it.

lsyoung

I have always found Lowell lights to be to flimsy - great for a student or small market TV where budgets are VERY tight and equipment is one of those things weighed heavily (I am NOT trying to offend anyone in a small market - just economics).