Advice for a new guy

mj1016

Hello

I just joined the site.

I graduated college about a year and half ago with a degree in TV/Radio Production.

I have had no luck trying to break into the media industry.

Can anyone give some good advice to an aspiring Photog?

cyndygreen1

Better be willing to move anywhere. Couple of questions: did you do an internship? Those are wonderful for opening doors and making contacts. Do you have a reel with strong examples of your work? Do you belong to any local professional organizations? I know folks, including myself, knock NPPA but it has a lot to offer those just starting out.

I notice you list yourself as a "Video Production Student" in your profile. If you're going for a job as a news cameraman, dump that and relabel yourself with the job you want...to keep it honest, maybe go with "aspiring".

And I hope you've kept your skills up by continuing to shoot and produce stories, if only for yourself. Having a demo reel that has nothing but old stuff on it may be a barrier.

Capt. Slo-mo

Don;t know if it holds as true now as it did back in the day when we had to race velocirapters out to the news truck, but many of us started for a year or two in very small markets...like Idaho small or similar. Pay sucks, but the chance to do a bit of everything can't be understated.

x2 on Cyndy's comment...while you are waiting for the first break...go shoot something every chance you get .

2 Hungry Dogs

I started in market Laning MI wich was 103 at the time. I felt very lucky to get my first job in that big of a market

photoguy603

Have to agree with everyone else. Your in Orlando now and moving to Tampa. I've never worked in either market but they are both top 20 (I believe) and you a new out-of-school photog will NOT land a job there without other experience (unless your that lucky 1 in 1,000 guy). Open yourself up to move ANYWHERE, including Wyoming, Montana etc.