#1  
Old 09-07-2017, 10:25 AM
Hess's Avatar
Hess Hess is offline
PRO user
Joey Heslin
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 174
Hess
Default AVCHD Work flow

Greetings,

I hope everyone is safe and doing well with the weather lately.

I have a question about AVCHD work flow.

I'm shooting on a Canon C-100, it makes nice pictures.

I'm editing on a Mac Book Pro with Premiere CC.

I understand the whole "bring the whole card into your computer" and just import what you need into Premiere.

That works fine and all when I'm on a new project and the card is clean.

Today, for example, I had a quick shoot to get a few pick up scenes for a project, and was shooting on a card that already has media on it that I'm not ready to dump.

I can't just pick todays scenes off of the card, so I bring the whole card back into my current project. Now I have 30 minutes of media I don't want in this project and Its talking up more space on my hard drive.

How do I dump what I don't need from the folder I created today?

I put this up on Creative Cow, and only got replies that tell me to dump the whole card to your computer.

Your Thoughts??

Thank you as always.

Joey Hess
__________________
"Glittering prizes and endless compromises shatter the illusion of integrity."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2017, 05:44 AM
cameragod's Avatar
cameragod cameragod is offline
Member
Stephen Press
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,607
cameragod is on a distinguished road
Default

Go PC... sorry couldn't resist
A editor I know dumps the whole card in then deletes the files he doesn't want. It gives me the screaming nightmares but he is adamant it works OK.
__________________
All artists are prepared to suffer for their work, but why are so few prepared to learn to draw? :BANKSY


"A Cameraman without a camera is just a man." Stephen Press
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2017, 09:05 AM
Focused's Avatar
Focused Focused is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 477
Focused is on a distinguished road
Default AVCHD

I have been messing with AVCHD since I bought a HMC150 8 or so years ago.

In short, yes, you can bring in only the handful of MTS files you need. You can even rename them before importing--as long as they are short files. I'll explain.

What I have found over the years and several different cameras is that if the file spans 2.05 GB (4.08 GB on some cameras) it needs metadata from the card to create a seamless clip when editing. If its not seamless, there is a 2 frame "adjustment" that looks like a recording error or blip.

With a 8 GB card yielding 45-48 minutes of video, that 2.05 GB is about a 12 minute file. If your files are under 12 minutes = no issue. 20 and 30 second files are cake. Bring in only the ones you need and edit away.
__________________
What's the point of a fisheye if you can't use it to see underwater?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2017, 10:35 AM
Hess's Avatar
Hess Hess is offline
PRO user
Joey Heslin
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 174
Hess
Default

Thanks for the input.

Stephen, I used to be in an all PC shop and we shot on P2 and it all worked very well.

When I became an "impacted employee" I landed a job with our local university, and the department I'm in gave me the option to go PC or Mac. They all cut on Macs, so I thought I should play along with them to save myself headaches down the road.

Thanks again for the input.

Joey Hess
__________________
"Glittering prizes and endless compromises shatter the illusion of integrity."

Last edited by Hess; 09-11-2017 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2017, 11:55 AM
Hess's Avatar
Hess Hess is offline
PRO user
Joey Heslin
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 174
Hess
Default

So, I think I have found a solution to my issue.

Right Click.

After opening the Card and double clicking the Private Folder to reveal the AVCHD File...

Right Click on that and click on "Show Packaged Contents"

Right Click again on the File "BDMV " and click on "Show Packaged Contents"

Now Double Click on "Stream"

That will show all of the individual clips on the card and you can move them accordingly.

Joey Hess
__________________
"Glittering prizes and endless compromises shatter the illusion of integrity."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2017, 03:53 AM
cameragod's Avatar
cameragod cameragod is offline
Member
Stephen Press
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,607
cameragod is on a distinguished road
Default

As long as you keep the file structure on the Mac you should be ok.
__________________
All artists are prepared to suffer for their work, but why are so few prepared to learn to draw? :BANKSY


"A Cameraman without a camera is just a man." Stephen Press
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2017, 09:24 AM
FeedingFrenzy FeedingFrenzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 144
FeedingFrenzy
Default

Since you already have the Creative Cloud, you can also use Bridge or Prelude to bring just the clips you want into your computer. I prefer Bridge, but both do the job.
__________________
Our priorities are proven by our decisions, NOT our intentions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1996-2009 b-roll.net

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.