#1  
Old 09-23-2010, 08:58 PM
BlueBoy BlueBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
BlueBoy
Default Sony EX1 as webcam?

What do I need to use my Sony EX1 as a webcam through Skype? I'm on a MAC.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2010, 09:03 AM
zac love's Avatar
zac love zac love is offline
Member
Zachariah James Thiessen Love
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,131
zac love is on a distinguished road
Default

As long as you don't have one of the newest MacBooks, you should already have firewire. Plug the camera in through that & see if Skype can spot the camera.

See if that works.
__________________
there are two types of film students:
those who make bad movies
& those who don't make any
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2010, 12:02 PM
BlueBoy BlueBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
BlueBoy
Default

Nothing works. Connected via firewire, connected via USB. Not recognized by iChat or Skype. Nothing in the manual, nothing on the Sony website. Is there a driver needed.
How could this camera not support this function?????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2010, 01:45 PM
FeedingFrenzy FeedingFrenzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 142
FeedingFrenzy
Default

Do you have the firewire "enabled" in the menu? If its not, then your computer won't even see it.
__________________
Our priorities are proven by our decisions, NOT our intentions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2010, 09:32 PM
Necktie Boy's Avatar
Necktie Boy Necktie Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,665
Necktie Boy is on a distinguished road
Default

If I correct, only HDV goes down the firewire. Make sure the camera is set to 25, and not 35.
__________________
"Fire up a colortini, sit back, relax, and watch the pictures, now, as they fly through the air."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2010, 09:53 PM
FeedingFrenzy FeedingFrenzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 142
FeedingFrenzy
Default

Nope, it'll do both DVCam & HDV. You need to enable it in the menu. You also may have to choose a trigger mode. I use the "both" mode. Its on page 138 of the manual.

"• Set “i.LINK I/O” (page 131) of the OTHERS menu to “HDV” or “DVCAM.” HDV: To output an HDV stream when you set the video format to SP 1440/60i, SP 1440/50i, or SP 1440/24P in HD Mode DVCAM: To output a DVCAM stream in SD Mode
• Set “Trigger Mode” (page 131) of the OTHERS menu to “Both” or “External.” Both: To record both on the memory card in the camcorder and on the external device External: To record only on the external device.

There's much more, but at least you can get to the page number and go from there.
BTW, as long as the "i-Link" is active, the camera will not let you engage the S&Q mode. Not really necessary for a web cam, but when you try to use it while shooting and it doesn't engage, disable the i-link. Great camera, did you have any backfocus issues out of the box?
__________________
Our priorities are proven by our decisions, NOT our intentions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2010, 03:20 PM
BlueBoy BlueBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
BlueBoy
Default

I'm going to go with "this is not possible". Followed FeedingFrenzys menu settings...even contacted Sony.

This was Sonys advice:
To enable the firewire on the camera you need to do the following:
1) Set Menu-->Others-->i.LINK I/O to Enable
2) Set Menu-->Others-->Video Format to an SP format (these formats are 25 Mbps and can be sent over firewire; the 35 Mbps formats require an SDI connection)
3) Set Menu-->Video Set-->Y PB PR/SDI OUT to OFF
After doing this the live camera signal or the playback signal can be output via firewire

Still nothing. Camera is still not recognized by Skype, iMovie, or iChat.
Very disappointing. You'd think a camera of this price could support such a simple function.
How did you correct the backfocus issue?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2010, 03:38 PM
zac love's Avatar
zac love zac love is offline
Member
Zachariah James Thiessen Love
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,131
zac love is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBoy View Post
Very disappointing. You'd think a camera of this price could support such a simple function.
Not sure if I would blame this on Sony or Skype.

Can Skype take a MiniDV camera as a webcam over firewire? If so, then Skype is off the hook. And I wouldn't blame Skype too much if they can take DV but not HDV, as the feed is probably getting scaled down lots & so you're way below SD res anyway.

Sony was a little ahead of themselves in NOT putting SD on the EX1. Their proline HDV cameras can all output DV via firewire while recording HDV to media. So the computer sees it as only a DV device, and any software that can take a DV firewire feed, can then take the HD camera's feed as DV.

I can partially blame Sony for not having a DV downconvert through firewire, but not too much as the camera can't do ANY SD (you have to upgrade to the EX1R for that). So you should know when you purchase the EX1 that it is HD & HD only.

Plus you're using a professional camera & free software. How much do you expect free software to support a cutting edge hardware?

It would be nice if everything high end, played well with everything low end, but it doesn't have to. When you spend lots of extra money, you get to scoff & brag that what you're using is so advanced it only works with other top shelf products.


(PS have you tried Justin.tv? Live web-streaming from about anything. It took me less time to set up an account & start web-casting than it did to reply to this thread.
__________________
there are two types of film students:
those who make bad movies
& those who don't make any
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2010, 05:23 AM
eugalc eugalc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 109
eugalc
Default

I'm just thinking off the top of my head, but have you tried downconverting the video output? The EX1 will only record HD, but you can use the camera's internal downconverter to get SD out of the camera. We've done this for digitizing...I know why would you digitize S x S media...that's another story.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2011, 11:19 AM
BlueBoy BlueBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
BlueBoy
Default

OK, forget the EX1...the verdict is that it is useless for Skype use. Moving on.
Looking for suggestions for an affordable "Skype friendly" camera.
Something that looks professional...perhaps adjustable iris and manual focus.
With mic input and headphone output.
Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-22-2011, 04:07 PM
supedog's Avatar
supedog supedog is offline
PRO user
Mario Page
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
supedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac love View Post
Not sure if I would blame this on Sony or Skype.

Can Skype take a MiniDV camera as a webcam over firewire? If so, then Skype is off the hook. And I wouldn't blame Skype too much if they can take DV but not HDV, as the feed is probably getting scaled down lots & so you're way below SD res anyway.

Sony was a little ahead of themselves in NOT putting SD on the EX1. Their proline HDV cameras can all output DV via firewire while recording HDV to media. So the computer sees it as only a DV device, and any software that can take a DV firewire feed, can then take the HD camera's feed as DV.

I can partially blame Sony for not having a DV downconvert through firewire, but not too much as the camera can't do ANY SD (you have to upgrade to the EX1R for that). So you should know when you purchase the EX1 that it is HD & HD only.

Plus you're using a professional camera & free software. How much do you expect free software to support a cutting edge hardware?

It would be nice if everything high end, played well with everything low end, but it doesn't have to. When you spend lots of extra money, you get to scoff & brag that what you're using is so advanced it only works with other top shelf products.


(PS have you tried Justin.tv? Live web-streaming from about anything. It took me less time to set up an account & start web-casting than it did to reply to this thread.
I have used my Panasonic HVX200 with Skype with no problem over firewire. However, It only works in DV/Tape mode (Cannot have switch in P2 mode).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-22-2011, 04:35 PM
zac love's Avatar
zac love zac love is offline
Member
Zachariah James Thiessen Love
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,131
zac love is on a distinguished road
Default

It looks like if you have a camera with FireWire out, you should probably get something to work. So something like a DV or HDV type camera might work. (Google "Skype & Firewire")

According to the description, this live shot was done on Skype, laptop & P2 camera via Firewire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6hnagSBZbc
__________________
there are two types of film students:
those who make bad movies
& those who don't make any
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-24-2011, 03:42 AM
Zetandy Zetandy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Zetandy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac love View Post
It looks like if you have a camera with FireWire out, you should probably get something to work. So something like a DV or HDV type camera might work. (Google "Skype & Firewire")

According to the description, this live shot was done on Skype, laptop & P2 camera via Firewire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6hnagSBZbc
Wow, thanks your information.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
sony ex1 webcam skype

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1996-2009 b-roll.net

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.