#1  
Old 09-22-2005, 01:46 PM
rugbyphotog's Avatar
rugbyphotog rugbyphotog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
rugbyphotog
Post

Need a little help - in the new budget, I was able to get some new shotgun mics. The current camera (DVC PRO) I inherited is.......well, older and has no place to attach a shotgun mic. The nats mic that came on the camera in not on the side like most. It comes in an "L" bracket, which is no longer made. Any creatice ideas on attaching a shotgun mic to a camera?

Let's put it this way - engineer said to zip-tie it to the camera handle. As you can see....not getting any help there.

Or if you now a place that you can find parts to older equipment...
like the Panasonic DVC Pro AJ-D215P?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2005, 01:50 PM
ken g ken g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51
ken g
Post

I am currently using the same camera. The little submineature mike that came with the camera was removed an a sidemount was put in its place, which holds my shotgun. I beleive the hokder is a Panasonic part, I will try to find out for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2005, 01:51 PM
ken g ken g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51
ken g
Post

I am currently using the same camera. The little submineature mike that came with the camera was removed an a sidemount was put in its place, which holds my shotgun. I beleive the hokder is a Panasonic part, I will try to find out for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2005, 02:27 PM
SandRat's Avatar
SandRat SandRat is offline
Member
Matthew Adams
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 565
SandRat
Post

If you have a screwmount on the handle of your camera (not familiar with the mounts on the AJ-D215P) this one works great.

Frezzolini LSM-21
__________________
"Somebody please tell this machine I'm not a machine." W. Coyne
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:37 PM
Imachief Imachief is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 108
Imachief
Post

Here's an option, check out:

www.photomartusa.com/exclusives

The right angle mount fits my Panasonic 610 perfectly. I bought these for all the cameras in my shop...we didn't have shotgun mics when I arrived either.

Add a nice little coiled audio cable & you're in business!

The prices on these things are a lot easier to swallow than the Panasonic shotgun mic bracket. Last time I checked it was selling for $285.00 each!!!

If you call 'em & ask real nice, they'll probably send you a demo unit. They did it for me.

If I can be of further assistance...feel free to PM.
__________________
" I shoot EVERYTHING with available light. There's all kinds of lights in my gear available to me on a moments notice."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:33 PM
Oldhuskie's Avatar
Oldhuskie Oldhuskie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 61
Oldhuskie
Post

Try this out. Not sure if it will fit your camera
but give it a shot.

http://www.cameravaults.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:24 AM
Run 'n' Get 'em Run 'n' Get 'em is offline
Member
Josh Kuhn
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 890
Run 'n' Get 'em
Post

We've got a couple of those cameras sitting around as backups with Audio Technica shotguns mounted on them... I'll check out the mount at work tomorrow and post how they're mounted.

Rubgy... @ WSAV?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:45 PM
ozman ozman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
ozman
Post

industrial strength velcro.... Solution to many problems
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2006, 06:36 AM
Deaf and Blind's Avatar
Deaf and Blind Deaf and Blind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 793
Deaf and Blind
Post

Employ a sound tech.
__________________
Here's one I prepaired earlier...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:39 PM
ken g ken g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51
ken g
Post

Just wanted to ley you know that I had the same problem trying to mount a shotgun to a 215. I did manage to find and buy 2 of the panasonic mounts. You remove the little mike that comes with the camera, this unit plugs in and you use the same screw holes to hold it as held the original mike. It has the flip up top mount to quickly mount or unmount the mike. It has the xl plug on the rear for your mike cable, and has a switch to use phantom power. The xl plug puts the mike to channel 1, front. It is a panasonic part, but I cannot find a part number on the unit for you to check out the availability with. I am only using one of these, so if you get pinched, I would let you have the other. I paid 250$ for the pair, so I guess half that would be what I would need for the other. I am not sure if panasonic still offers items like this for the older 200,210 or 215s. I use these cameras for news every day and love them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1996-2009 b-roll.net

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.