#1  
Old 01-03-2016, 06:22 PM
Starman's Avatar
Starman Starman is offline
Member
Jacques Philip Star
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 489
Starman is on a distinguished road
Default Litepanels Sola 6 vs. Astra

Hi all,

I am currently using the following setup for live shots:

Dracast 1x1 single color LED panels
1 200w Bron "Reporter Light" HMI

I was looking at a used 400w Kobold HMI that a friend had for sale, for $1,700. I am kicking myself for not jumping on it, now they are going used on Ebay for $4,500.

However, I am looking at an LED option to add to my live shot kit. Looking at the Litepanels Sola 6 LED fresnel. How would this do along side my 200w HMI? I am thinking it could provide enough punch with this combo to pull of shots in afternoon sun, provided I use a scrim and maybe a net behind the talent.

I looked at the Nila lights, and the Frezzi LED's but they are a little out of my price range at the moment.

Any feedback on the Sola 6 outdoors? Also, I am reading on Litepanels website that the Astra is equivalent to a 575 watt HMI, and the Sola 6 is much weaker, equivalent to a 200watt HMI. Is this true??

I am also considering renting a 400W HMI as needed for now
__________________
Jacques Star
Sound and Picture Department
Liquid Assets TV
http://www.liquidassets.tv
Star Video Productions
http://www.jacquesstarvideoproductions.com

Last edited by Starman; 01-03-2016 at 11:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2016, 12:26 AM
Run&Gun Run&Gun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,169
Run&Gun is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Always take manufacture quotes with a grain of salt. I have two Astra's and I love them and they do have some kick, but I don't think they're equivalent to a 575 watt HMI. Maybe if it is a fresnel that's flooded and diffused... and I'm sure they don't specify the distance either.

I hate to make you feel worse, but you should have jumped all over that 400 Kobold HMI for that price. Hell of a deal on a great little light.

My two cents on netting in the background on LS's: Don't do it. It looks like crap. It kills the contrast of your background. I used to do it all the time in SD, especially when I only had a single 400 HMI, but I haven't used a net in the background since before I went HD.
__________________
"Making video look good isn't a luxury, it's a must. That's our job, that's what we do for a living." Originally posted by Chicago Dog
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2016, 10:43 AM
Starman's Avatar
Starman Starman is offline
Member
Jacques Philip Star
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 489
Starman is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the feedback. Looks like I will have to rent for now. Only drawback is if it is a breaking story or last minute call, it could be a problem getting a rental after hours.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1996-2009 b-roll.net

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.