Trouble with Demo Tape

I am having some real problems with finding a job, i graduated in Februay 05 and still looking for work, Is it my Resume, cover letter, demo tape or is it all three? My demo is just some shots that i took i know that stories are better, but i am having trouble getting stories, i have been able to get some really great... well i guess b-roll and thats what my demo is. Any help would be great Thanks

bluffton

Yes, you have an issue. The cover letter and resume on paper are secondary to the all important TAPE.

Chiefs, ND's or whoever is hiring want to see if you can put that
b-roll into a story with a beginning middle and end. Having compelling audio, sound bites and natural sound.

You may need to go back to your college and find that professor you really got along with well and see if you can go out and get it done.

Or you could ask the tv stations locally if you can freelance until you can prove yourself.

What you can also do is apply for a production position in the studio full or part time and learn to "play" with the news gear during your time off.

Because you will be an employee at that point you should be able to go out with crews to learn more and experiment on your free time.

You really need to build some relationships with anyone and everyone you can if you get this "production job."

Good luck and I would like to the other ideas folks have.

I'm in the process right now of trying to put together a new resume tape.I graduated in May of 04 and I need some oppions and ideas.
What do you look for on a tape?Do you want live shots?Vosots?
Also,I was wondering if I can still use,or should use my internship/college stories?(I've been working about a year and a half now).
Ideas???/

Lost in Alaska