New Chief

Shooter25

Hey everyone, I'm a new Chief Photographer and I'm looking for advice. I've never been a Chief before and I've been shooting for almost 15 years. The shop I'm heading to has an established group of photogs who I haven't met. Any advice on how to approach a situation like this? I'd like to establish good working relationships and friendships, yet develop a mentor like situation with them.

Thanks in advance!

photog1199

Good Luck

Good Luck and Congrats. I became a Chief for the first time two years ago. I took over at the shop I work so my exprience is a little different. Just be prepared for paperwork that you have never had to do before, I knew it was coming but it's still my least favorite part.

Just make sure you stand up for your guys when you need to but also don't be afraid to get on to them if they screw up. The hardest part for me is having to discipline them when needed because before I got promoted I was no different than them, just a little more exprienced. Just remember that your guys except you to be their ally but so does management and you have to balance that.

Again Good Luck.

David R. Busse

Get a book on amazon.com called "It's Your Ship" by Michael Abrashoff. Read every word of it. There are parallels to the TV news environment on every page.

Spot remover

You will be a big brother, dad, friend, enemy and go-between every day. You can't be "one of the guys" at all and you can't be too distant either. Don't take every complaint as gospel and you can't fix everything. You'll follow orders you find ridiculous and fume when the guilty party is let off. You'll get pissed when someone calls in sick because "they don't feel like working today" and you'll feel great when they call you "chief" or respect you enough to introduce to family when they get a tour of the station.