moving on

paulisphotoman

Just out of curiosity, is there a specific time frame that many employers look at when looking at potential photographers then they apply, I'm mainly talking about how long they've been at their current position ??

I am now working in the SW with my goal to make a permanent move back to the midwest. I was in the SE for most of my career, and am missing the area. I've been in the SW for about 6 months and originally plan to do a year, but have applied to a few positions I want to move to permanently....

I know it's always nice to see a person to some time somewhere, but I've been doing this for 10 years, so I was just wondering

oldman

for me the tape is the way in.... length of experience is secondary to a demonstration of skill. i have interviewed photogs with decades of experience who dont have the tools that a shooter with only two years has.

then attitude during the interview seals the deal...when i peel the onion on the candidate if i find bad spots that are often built up over years of working the older shooter loses out to a youngster that still has the fire...

that said....your experience can be a true asset...sell your knowledge of how to handle difficult and trying situations in your cover letter and on your tape.... and follow up with it during your interview.

good luck!

paulisphotoman

thanks for your input..I've been a Photographer for 10 years working in both news and production now back shooting news.
I've seen various crew members spend years at one place due to their families, but have also those single people, like me, move around alot to different places until they get experience then find a home, etc...I do know it's not just what's on your tape/abilitesv (althought it's very very important), but also personality, how you handle yourself professionally, etc...I'm in the SW, being form the midwest and am looking to move permanently back to the midwest for my final move...

paulisphotoman