Haunting Dreams

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bart1963

Are there other cameramen, photojournalists out there who have trouble forgetten some of the images that they have seen? I have been shooting spot news for 14 years, and have another 10 years experience in television, but there are some images that I can't forget and still 10 years after the fact, when I reflect on them they still bring a tear to my eye.

Some of teh worse are not that graphic.....A house fire in Sheastown, about an hour and a half away, a father and three little girls burnt to death. It was on a weekend and it was Monday when I was sent out. There wasn't alot of damage. The fire commissioner ruled it a fat fire. When I got there the windows had been bored up, but there was a swing set and the girls toys in the front yard. I have seen alot of dead bodies, but still this images continues to haunt me. Another was a fatal roll over on the Trans Canada Highway, by the time I arrived, all that was left was the acr, still the drivers salt and pepper hat, and his shoe remain there. Another image, and another accident, on Pitt's Memorial drive and a drunk driving accident. I arrived before the police, a man, that worked as a handy man for one our anchors laided lying on the ground, a vast river of bluish red blood was flowing along the pavement, but worse again. 10 years ago, there was a trans AM accident on windgap road in flatrock. I arrived quickly, although it was about 20 kilometres from where I lived. Even before the police. The car was on fire, trapped and still alive, and screaming in the backseat was a teenager. He seatbelt was stuck, and he couldn't get out of the wreck. The fire departemnt tried to free him, but they couldn't fight back the flames. I don't know what was worse the screams or the smell. It something I will never forget.