Getting started in the film world

Starman

I am used to ENG shoots on a small crew, but I had the chance to be a camera operator on a couple of bigger shoots and really liked the taste of it. I enjoyed being on a large crew, and the much smaller workload. I understand that to become a DP in the commercial/feature/cinema style world you have to work your way up as a 2nd AC, then 1rst AC or focus puller, and then a camera operator and then a DP. I am currently 34 years old, but I have 14 years of experience as a cameraman.

The reason I was able to be a camera operator was mainly because these were shoots my friends were coordination, or came from a smaller corporate job i did with a client. I would like to do more of this ad agency work however. But everyone keeps telling me I have to start as a 2nd AC, which I do not mind at all.

The question is, how can I break into the cinema side of things as a 2nd AC? How do I train to become a 2nd AC and get that first gig so that I can work my way up?

Here is a link to a job I did where I was the operator, I had an AC pulling focus, and the DP was my buddy who was just standing around watching on a monitor:

http://youtu.be/JBdlwO-vN9s

Necktie Boy

Well, a true DP doesn't operate the camera. Usually there is a camera operator, but that is with the big boys.

In my world, most started out working in a rental camera department, and on the side did film jobs. Just got lucky and found someone that would take them under their wing.

My buddy started that way. He work in Canada, and after many years, received his union card. Now, he is a television director, but it was a long road for him. He worked from PA to Steadicam to A-Cam to director.

The commercial world is a small one. Same crews seem to work on them. There is one sound mixer that only does commercials. He seems to do most of them in LA.