Footage on Premiere CS6/CC

paulisphotoman

I am new to editing on Premiere Pro CS6/CC. I am editing a series of training videos, experiencing alot of anxiety, esp since I'm new to this system. I've edited on Avid/Final Cut Pro, have always labeled my footage/audio to grfx in each seperate bin.

If you re-name the clips, from their original raw footage, to a more descriptive shot name, will that screw up other editors on my network system who share files ?

Hope this makes sense, but I want to rename each shots from say " 001 " to " WS Host on camera ", etc, so the shots are much more organized, easier to find. I was told to not label each shot, but put the clips into a " named folder ", since I'm on this sharing network.

Tv Shooter

Go over to creativecow.net and they have a Premiere/CS6 forum. Most likely get a faster and more thorough answer there. I know some of the guys on those edit forums and they can figure out anything in two seconds.

Necktie Boy

This isn't an editing software problem. This is a logging problem. Whoever imported the footage in the first place, should have labeled the clips. Also, you are working as a team editor, not cutting a piece by yourself.

As the Production Manager, you set the procedures for post production. If the imported the footage is without proper names, you can only blame yourself.

If the original camera footage was labeled 001, 002, 003, then timecode plays an important role. I am assuming these are Red files that your shot? Not up on Red recording, but very dangerous not add some prefix to the in-camera labeling. You will end up with a bunch of files with the same name and even TC on a network. If you have to reconnect, it may be a nightmare.