Downtown Phoenix Revitalization

nikonjourno

[b-rollTV]3693[/b-rollTV]

To everyone who saw the bad one before it was a fcp issue that I fixed. Replaced it with the original. Please give me some suggestions. Thanks!

Story about the revitalization of downtown Phoenix. It focuses on the efforts being put forth by the city, county, state and private sector to make downtown Phoenix once again a 24/7 destination.

All feedback welcome. I am a senior journalism student at ASU's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and am looking for critiques to help me improve my work. I shoot, write and edit all of my packages for school.

Thanks in advance!

Jeremy

Last edited:

cyndygreen1

Your first five or ten seconds need to GRAB THE AUDIENCE and hold them. Both your visuals and narration didn't do that with me.

And a statement that is forceful rather than bland. Instead of "you may have noticed that downtown is changing" try loud nats and then something like "changes have altered the face of downtown." Intersperse nats with your narration to keep up the pace. Oh - and please don't show people's backs. Show people being active.

Good framing on interview/should use a fill light.

Yeah - you moved so your standup is asymmetrical! Next, move in closer to the camera. Try walking from off camera to on-camera.

Jump cut in editing after standup (traffic shot). Overall, steady shooting, but nothing exciting. You've got the framing and exposure down...now work on shots that make the story visually alive. Your ending shots are just as important as your opener - you want to make your audience stay and you want to leave them with a memory...but not of a guy typing.

One of the biggest challenges is making the non-visual story visually exciting. Sometimes you can do better with a shorter story/maybe a minute rather than 1:33. Adding nats...also using your voice to entice the audience.

Again...as a student, you're on the right track. Keep practicing.

MikeW