anorexia

Even though i'm a news photographer, i consider myself more of an editor than a shooter. Meaning, i shoot stuff and just let my editing do the talking. so with this story, i challenge myself to have a simple piece with solid shooting, straight cuts (some dissolves), good lighting and solid storytelling.

It runs 6:36 but i'll take critiques for the first 3 minutes, if you have the time :). (feel free to watch the whole thing though). Thanks in advance and feel free to give me tips or suggest things i should of done.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ti24bHTyls

BryantVW

Some really good shots and creative use of pictures and lighting. I like how you scrolled along the calendar to show the passing of time.

You needed to clean your lens when you did that two shot of the reporter talking to Matt. It was all cloudy and distracted me. A jump cut when you went from Trish's interview to the shots of her at the computer. Could have been avoided by putting a closeup of her typing first for a second, and then out to her.

Also her desk is pretty messy. Not sure if you were trying to make it that way or not but I found it distracting. Your interview shot should tell the story just as much as your interview itself. I found myself staring at the computer monitor, the phone, and that giant book she has on her desk. None of that screams out "Anorexia Expert" to me. Maybe put that bookshelf behind her. Or somewhere else, really anywhere else except her desk with the Windows screensaver.

Try changing up Matt's interview shot every once in awhile. It gets repetitive, especially after 3 minutes, seeing the same medium shot of him in his room. When he's talking about his hands shaking while typing "anorexia" you should have been closer in on his face. Just change between wide medium and right to vary your focal length.

Thats about all I got for you at the moment. Well shot, just a few jump cut and shot selection things that could have been easily avoided.

Latin Lens