Slow Motion

2000lux

Has anyone shot some really slow motion footage? I have a client that wants to shoot someone swinging a baseball bat, and really slow it down at the moment of impact, etc.

I'm trying to decide if we can use an FS7, or a FASTEC, or go all the way and hire a Phantom crew.

Also, what about lighting? I know when you get into really high speeds, you can see the flicker of some lights. Also you need A LOT of light. HMIs, or my Aydentech JAB might be good tools?

I'm very new to slow mo' so any information or advice is welcome!

Last edited:

satpimp

There is an algorithm to determine the flicker as you increase frame rate speed. I'd have to research but I'm sure someone here will know far better than I how to go about it. I helped rig for a Hummingbird shoot in Arizona. JABs would be great. Focus is so critical. Sorry if I'm being obvious.

Good Luck.

Robin

http://www.lovehighspeed.com/lighting-for-high-speed/

All you need to know above.. your best bet is to of course shoot outside on a sunny day.. with over 2K tungsten lamps.. DC powered if poss.. presuming your in the US.. the Phantom Flex is a much 'easier ' beast than the older phantoms..
if you want really slow mo.. over 1000 fps.. otherwise try a F55 with RAW recorder up to 240..

Focused

Some of the REDs will do 240 fps as well. Higher speeds will need a higher end camera.

Side note: a buddy has a 10 year old Casio digital camera. It does variable high speed recording at different resolutions. That sucker will give you 240 fps in SD 720x480 with the ability to ramp playback speed in the camera. Heck of a consumer camera at that age.