Sending Footage via FTP... help.

chad556

I'm a bit ashamed to admit this, but I'm crossing into a territory I have never been in before. I have been a freelance stringer for many years and have always dropped my footage off in person to the stations via P2 card or DV tape. I'm a pro at ingesting the footage into each of the 5 stations servers. Now everything is different. I live 200 miles from the stations that regularly buy footage from me and hand delivering the footage just isnt practical for time and money reasons. I have resorted to uploading my footage to an FTP server or sending via yousendit.com

Here's my issue. Right now I am logging and capturing the footage using Final Cut Pro. I still primarily use DV format. I capture the footage using DV NTSC 60hz anamorphic (Shot in 16:9) I then save the clips as uncompressed avi format. Thats where the problem is. These files are HUGE and take forever to upload and download via the net. Will MP4 files work? Would someone who uses final cut pro kindly give me a step by step instruction on how to most effectively convert these clips to a manageable size without compromising quality? Thanks!

AKinDC

The real question is, how would the stations like the files delivered?
If they all use FCP, I'd go with Pro Res LT, or if they don't mind converting it, as an H.264.
Why are you converting them from DV format in the first place? Can they not use the DV files you capture?
What's the size limit you want to send?

Feel free to PM me if you want more in depth, step by step directions for any of this.

Necktie Boy

How many minutes of footage are you sending? I can send a mov or a mpeg file to the station, but I am send a 60 second file. A 60 second mov file is about 200 megs. It takes me about 30 minutes to upload. A mpeg of the same length takes me about 15 minutes. That file is about 120 megs.