Why this is an IMPORTANT JOB

n8riggs

I am fairly new to the industry and really enjoy being a news photographer.

Because I'm new, I am at part time, working odd hours/on-call and making under $10.00 hr.

I understand that I have to pay my dues and I'm fine with that. I just want to know what are some long term benefits being in this industry? Can I climb the ladder to become a reporter, producer, director? Is it better to go around the country working at different places or is it better to stay put and work my way up? Why is this career important to you?

Please let me know what you think.

NoozShootah

Can I climb the ladder to become a reporter, producer, director?
Your current position isn't any lower on the ladder than these jobs and believing that it is isn't a good way to look at things. If your goal is to be a reporter, try to find a job in a small market as a one man band and then work your way up to the larger markets.

It is no different than being a carpenter, or still photographer. Traditionally in both fields you would spend some time and apprentice to learn necessary skills on the job. Then the real work begins as a journeyman you must learn how to make it pay the bills. This is what climbing the ladder is for us, it will consist of improving your work so you can get the higher paying jobs either inside or outside the news segment of the industry.

There are a couple of people here that charge upward of 1000 to 2000 USD a day with equipment and work anywhere from 100 to 200 days a year at or near full rate. Can you just run out get an equipment loan and expect the same.... probably not. The people I am talking about are what people in the trades typically think of as master craftsmen. They have spent years learning the skills and years cultivating a business that supports that those skills.